Jayasinghe Bandara to fill vacant Polonnaruwa MP seat

Saturday, 10 January 2015 - 20:17

Jayasinghe Bandara was appointed for the vacant MP seat for Polonnaruwa District, after the new President Maithreepala Sirisena sworn in.

Jayasinghe Bandara was placed fifth in the UPFA preferential votes list.  

Speaking to our news team, the new MP stated that he has been informed by the party’s General secretary Susil Premajayantha to come to Colombo tomorrow, to discuss regarding the matter.

Four MPs representing the UPFA were elected from the Polonnaruwa district at the 2010 General Election.

They include, current president Maithripala Sirisena, Roshan Ranasinghe, Siripala Gamlath and Chandrasiri Sooriyaarachchi.

Jayasinghe Bandara was listed as the fifth MP after obtaining 21,876 votes.

Wife of Baduideen reports to CID today as well
Thursday, 27 February 2020 - 13:13

The wife of former minister Rishard Badiudeen reported to the CID today for the second day to make a statement with regard to the land deeds and other... Read More

A petrol bomb hurled at railway security superintendent;Unauthorised construction, motive behind the attack
Thursday, 27 February 2020 - 13:15

Police says that they have received information the motive behind the petrol bomb attack at Railway Assistant Security Superintendent, North and East;... Read More

Voice samples of White van media conference suspects match;Secretary of Rajitha has paid for makeup
Thursday, 27 February 2020 - 13:14

The Attorney General Department informed the court that the Government Analyst has confirmed the voice samples of the two persons appeared in the controversial... Read More