Hirunews Logo
Monday, 20 April 2015 - 11:13
Update: Opposition MP’s continue sit in protest against summoning former president to bribery commission

The sit-in protest staged by a group of opposition MPs in the well of the house against the notice on former president Mahinda Rajapaksa to report to the Bribery Commission on April 24th is still continuing.

Heated arguments were exchanged in parliament over this matter this morning, and a group of Opposition MPs staged this protest as speaker Chamal Rajapaksa adjourned the house.

Meanwhile a letter signed by 55 Opposition MPs has been sent to President Maithreepala Sirisena, requesting him to intervene to settle this dispute.

Meantime, speaker Chamal Rajapaksa visited the parliament chambers where opposition MPs are engaged in the protest.

One of the protesting MPs T.B. Ekanayake quoted the speaker as saying that he would call the Bribery Commission’s Director General to parliament today.

Meanwhile a group of protesting opposition MPs including Wimal Weerawansa, Dallas Alahapperuma, Kumara Welgama and Mahindananda Aluthgamage convened a media conference in the parliament complex this afternoon.

Speaking during the media briefing MP Bandula Gunawardana said that the defiant MPs would continue their protest until the President intervenes and settle the matter.

At this point, journalists asked whether opposition leader Nimal Siripala de Silva also signed in the protesting letter sent to President Maithreepala Sirisena by the defiant MPs group.

As MP Dallas Alahapperuma was answering journalists, MPs Wimal Weerawansa and Kumara Welgama also joined Alahapperuma in commenting over the matter.

Update: Monday, 20 April 2015 - 07:55 PM

Tense situation in parliament over the summons of former president to Bribery Commission

Speaker Chamal Rajapaksa adjourned the parliament until tomorrow after a tense situation erupted in the house with regard to the summons of former president Mahinda Rajapaksa to the Bribery Commission on April 24th.

However our correspondent stated that a group of Opposition MPs are still engaged in a sit-in-protest in the well of the house.

Among the protesting MPs are
Dinesh Gunawardana,
Wimal Weerawansa,
Wasudeva Nanayakkara,
Dallas Alahapperuma,
Mahindananda Aluthgamage,
Johnston Fernando,
Sajin de Vass Gunawardana,
Tissa Karalliyadda,
R. Dumindha Silva,
Malani Fonseka,
Uditha Lokubandara,
Bandula Gunawardana,
T.B. Ekanayake and Weerakumara Dissanayake.

MP Bandula Gunawardana told our parliament correspondent that a written assurance to withdraw the summoning of former President Rajapaksa to the Bribery Commission should be made available by the President and the Prime Minister.

He said the MPs group would continue the protest until such a written assurance is issued to them through the Speaker.

Although deputy speaker Chandima Weerakkody strived to settle the matter, his attempt was futile.

Make a Comment
Make a Comment

You may also like :
Pollution hits Castlereagh Reservoir
Thursday, 15 March 2018 - 11:29
The fishermen say that the pollution of Castlereagh Reservoir has affected their livelihood.The fishermen say many are disposing garbage into the reservoir.The... Read More
News Image
Hiru News Programme Segments