Hirunews Logo
Monday, 31 August 2015 - 19:32
Who’ll be Opposition Leader? Likely to Appoint Unexpected Member

MP Lakshman Yapa Abeywardena stated that the President will take an unpredictable decision with regard to the post of Opposition Leader tomorrow.

He stated this while addressing the media, after holding talks with the President this morning.

The first session of the 8th parliament will commence at 9.30 AM tomorrow, and will initially hold the selection of the Speaker.

Name of MP Karu Jayasuriya has been nominated for the post of the Speaker.

The post of Deputy Speaker will be assigned to the SLFP, where political sources reveal that the name of former Minister A.H.M. Fowzie has been nominated for the post.

In addition, Former Minister Lakshman Kiriella will be re-appointed as the Leader of the House and Former Minister Gayantha Karunathilake will be re-appointed as the Chief Government Whip.

However, the names proposed for the post of parliament’s Opposition Leader and the Chief Opposition Whip have not been revealed so far.

The member who would be nominated for the post of Opposition Leader has become a hot topic, as there are reports saying MP Nimal Siripala de Silva who held the position previously will be offered a ministerial portfolio.

TNA stated that their party should be given the Opposition Leader post.

However, SLFP General Secretary MP Duminda Dissanayake stated in response that the post of Opposition Leader should be offered to the SLFP.

The Central Working Committee which was convened recently decided to handover the power of selecting the Opposition Leader to the President.

Media reports have already claimed that several senior members of SLFP and UNP have been nominated for the post of Opposition Leader.

Former Speaker Chamal Rajapaksa too is included among the nominees.

Other reports state that S.B. Dissanayake is also likely to be named for the post of Opposition Leader.

Recently, SLFP Senior Deputy Chairman MP Kumara Welgama also made a recent claim that he is eligible for the post of Opposition Leader.

Meanwhile, media reports also stated that the post of Opposition Leader might be offered to MEP Leader MP Dinesh Gunawardena.

However, NFF leader MP Wimal Weerawansa, quoting the words of President Maithripala Sirisena, stated that the President will facilitate the Opposition MPs to select the Opposition Leader.

Addressing the media, MP Wimal Weerawansa stated that the President mentioned this matter during the UPFA party leaders meeting held at the President’s official residence this morning.

MEP leader MP Dinesh Gunawardena, General Secretary of Democratic Left Front Wasudewa Nanayakkara and representatives from Desha Wimukthi Janatha party as well as Mahajana party also participated in the meeting on behalf of the SLFP.

Make a Comment
Make a Comment

You may also like :
Pollution hits Castlereagh Reservoir
Thursday, 15 March 2018 - 11:29
The fishermen say that the pollution of Castlereagh Reservoir has affected their livelihood.The fishermen say many are disposing garbage into the reservoir.The... Read More
News Image
Hiru News Programme Segments