Hirunews Logo
Tuesday, 01 September 2015 - 8:24
Update: Speaker Karu Jayasuriya – Mahinda seated 2nd in the first row of the opposition.


The First Sitting of the Eighth Parliament commenced this morning at the Parliament chamber at Sri Jayawardanapura.

MP Karu Jayasuriya was elected Speaker, proposed and seconded by Prime Minister Ranil Wickramasinghe and former Opposition Leader Nimal Siripala De Silva respectively.

MP Thilanga Sumathipala was appointed as Deputy Speaker and Selvam Adaikalanathan who represents the Tamil National Alliance was appointed as Deputy Chairman of Committees.

Further the Honorable Speaker Karu Jayasuriya informed the Parliament that MP Lakshman Kiriella and MP Gayantha Karunathilake will be appointed as Council Leader and Ruling Party Chief Organizer respectively.

It is also reported that former President Mahinda Rajapakshe was seated 2nd in the first row of the opposition.

Party Leaders had the opportunity to express their views after the appointment of the new Speaker.

10.11 AM : 
Party leaders are delivering their speeches at the moment

9.58 AM : 
The bizarre Parliament you have now is very complex and because of that take decisions based on public requirement – requests Anura Kumara Dissanayake, Leader of JVP

9.45 AM : MP Nimal Siripala delivered a speech about the appointment of Mr Karu Jayasuriya as Speaker. 

9.43 AM : Prime Minister Ranil Wickramasinghe in his speech made a request from the newly appointed Speaker Mr Karu Jaysuriya to act impartially. He also made an explanation of the future programs.

9.41 AM : 
Speaker Karu Jayasuriya was seated and ministers swore in front of the new Speaker. 

9.36 AM : Karu Jayasuriya has been unanimously elected as the Speaker of the 8th Parliament.His name was proposed by Prime Minister Ranil Wickramasinghe and seconded by former Opposition Leader Nimal Siripala De Silva.

8.00 AM : The First Sitting of the Eighth Parliament will commence at 9.30 a.m. today.

The Secretary General of Parliament Dhammika Dasanayake said, according to Parliament Standing Orders,  an MP elect for the new Parliament can sit anywhere inside the chambers until a Speaker is elected.

Parliament Secretary General Dasanayake told our news team that seating arrangements have not yet been finalized.

However seating have been already arranged for the President, the Prime Minister and the three ministers who have already been sworn in.

All MPs elect to be sworn in after a Speaker is elected for the new Parliament today.

Parliament Secretary General Dasanayake said that a Deputy Speaker and Deputy Chairman of Committees would be elected thereafter.

Later when house sits in the afternoon, President Maithripala Sirisena is to present the government’s policy statement to Parliament.

Make a Comment
Make a Comment

Thai Pongal festival held with glamour
Monday, 15 January 2018 - 12:07
Tamil Community around the world celebrated the Thai Pongal festival with glamour.Pongal is the harvest festival dedicated to the Sun. In accordance with... Read More
News Image
Hiru News Programme Segments