Mahinda Rajapaksa and 40 MPs at Kirulapone

Monday, 02 May 2016 - 6:54


The May Day rally organized by the Joint Opposition (JO) was held under the patronage of former President Mahinda Rajapaksa at Lalith Athulathmudali grounds in Kirulapone.

May Day Procession of the JO commenced near Shalika Grounds in Narahenpita, since an interim injunction issued by the court prohibited the members to enter its premises.

At 3.00pm the procession arrived in Kirulapone.

Leaders of the JO including Dinesh Gunawardena, Wimal Weerawansa, Udaya Gammanpila, Tissa Witharana as well as former leader of the JVP Somawansa Amarasinghe also participated in the May Day rally.

A total of 40 MPs including Dallas Alahapperuma, Mahinda Yapa Abeywardena, Mahinda-nanda Aluthgamage, C.B. Ratnayake, Bandula Gunawardena, Kumara Welgama, Prasanna Ranatunga and Pavithra Wanniarachchi were present in the rally.

Foreign investment in SL Bonds fall below 100 Billion
Friday, 28 February 2020 - 22:13

Foreign investment in SL bonds have fallen below 100 billion for first time since 2009 according to various economic online media reports.  The total... Read More

UNP Working Committee meeting ended without an agreement
Friday, 28 February 2020 - 18:56

UNP Working Committee meeting ended without an agreement on the alliance symbol & decides to meet again on Sunday. Read More

13 thousand metric tons of fertiliser containing arsenic reported to have distributed among farmers
Friday, 28 February 2020 - 18:52

The laboratory tests have confirmed that 13 thousand metric tons of fertilizer imported by the two government companies had contained arsenic and cadmium.... Read More