TN elections: J Jayalalithaa wins

Saturday, 21 May 2016 - 9:28


The ruling AIADMK, led by Chief Minister J Jayalalithaa, won a decisive victory in Tamil Nadu on Thursday, Indian media states.

Huge crowds at each of AIADMK meetings over the last two months were enough to show that Jayalalithaa Jayaram wasn’t facing any strong anti-incumbency wave in this state that hasn’t voted back a government in three decades.

The party last came to power for the second consecutive time was in 1984, under its founder M G Ramachandran when he was undergoing treatment in the United States.

UNP request to hold Bodhi Pooja for the party
Friday, 21 February 2020 - 19:18

UNP parliamentariahn Vajira Abeywardena requests party supporters to hold bodhi poojas seeking blessings for the party. Meanwhile parliamentarian Field... Read More

A lesson from the Prime minister to the Opposition on experience
Friday, 21 February 2020 - 18:48

Prime Minister Mahinda Rajapaksa said that a group of politicians with better experiences than their opposition counterparts are working for the Government.... Read More

A suspect confesses over the murder of Kadawatha Police constable
Friday, 21 February 2020 - 18:39

The main suspect in the murder of the police constable attached to the Kadawatha police station, Sudda, has confessed to the police that he committed the... Read More