UPFA expands; Thondaman and Athaulla join Alliance

Saturday, 11 June 2016 - 13:00

President Maithripala Sirisena has signed an agreement with 15 political parties this morning.   

A party leader who signed the agreement told our news team that the signing of the agreement took place at the President’s House.   

During a meeting between the UPFA Executive Council and the President held at the President’s House yesterday, approval was granted to expand the alliance.   

Following the meeting of the Executive Council which was held yesterday, Southern provincial council Chief Minister Shan Wijelal de Silva revealed to the media that Arumugam Thondaman’s Ceylon Workers’ Congress and A.L.M. Athaulla’s National Congress intend to join the UPFA.    

Accordingly, the relevant agreement was signed by 15 political parties today.   

The party leaders who signed the agreement noted that the decision for expansion was taken aiming the upcoming local government election.   

Former Minister Arumugam Thondaman’s Ceylon Workers’ Congress, MP Douglas Devananda’s E.P.D.P, and A.L.M. Athaulla’s National Congress are among the parties that signed the agreement with the President.

Tuesday, 25 February 2020 - 19:44

The first executive committee meeting of Sri Lanka Nidahas Podujana Sanvidhanaya was held under the patronage of Prime Minister Mahinda Rajapaksa and former... Read More

Transfers to 45 senior police officers
Tuesday, 25 February 2020 - 18:26

The Police Headquarters has taken measures to provide transfers and appointments to 45 senior police officers including a senior DIG and 6 DIGs. The Police... Read More

No exams for first term from next year - Ministry of Education
Tuesday, 25 February 2020 - 18:16

The Ministry of Education has decided not to hold the first term examination in schools from next year. The Ministry announced that the decision was taken... Read More