Hirunews Logo
Thursday, 07 July 2016 - 19:08
Joint Opposition announces its shadow cabinet; 51 to receive ministerial portfolios; Mahinda designated as Prime Minister

The Joint Opposition has announced a shadow cabinet this afternoon.

Former President Mahinda Rajapaksa has been designated as the Prime Minister of the shadow cabinet.

In addition, he has been given the Defence and Buddhasasana ministerial portfolios.

MP Dinesh Gunawardana has been designated for the National policies and economic affairs subject while Chamal Rajapaksa has been named for Transport and Civil Aviation subject.

At the same time, MP Namal Rajapaksa has been named for the Foreign Affairs portfolio.

Leader of National Freedom Front Wimal Weerawansa has been nominated for Housing, Construction and Engineering Services subject while leader of Pivituru Hela Urumaya MP Udaya Gammanpila has been named for Law and Order portfolio.

Hon. Mahinda Rajapaksa – Prime Minister, Minister of Buddha Sasana, Religious Affairs and Defence


    Hon. Dinesh Gunawardena – National Policies and Economic Affairs
    Hon. Chamal Rajapaksa – Transport and Aviation
    Hon. Dallas Alahapperuma – Education and Parliamentary Affairs
    Hon. Kumara Welgama – Ports and Shipping
    Hon. Janaka Bandara Tennakoon – Strategic Development and International Trade
    Hon. Bandula Gunawardena – Finance
    Hon. Wimal Weerawansa – Housing, Construction and Engineering Services
    Hon. Wasudewa Nananayakkara – National Co-existence, Dialogue and Official Languages
    Hon. Pavithra Wanniarachchi – Social Empowerment and Social Services
    Hon. Salinda Dissanayake – Plantation Industry and Estate Infrastructure
    Hon. C.B. Ratnayake – Irrigation and Water Resources Management
    Hon. Mahinda Yapa Abeywardena – Agriculture
    Hon. Gamini Lokuge – Labour and Trade Union Relations
    Hon. Keheliya Rambukwella – State Enterprise Development
    Hon. Johnston Fernando – Industry and Commerce
    Hon. Chandrasiri Gajadheera – Justice and Constitutional Reforms
    Hon. S.M. Chandrasena – Rural Economic Affairs, Livestock and Rajarata Development
    Hon. Mahindananda Aluthgamage – Petroleum and Mineral Resources Development
    Hon. Rohitha Abeygunawardena – Power and Energy
    Hon. Weerakumara Dissanayake – Science and Technology
    Hon. S.C. Muthukumarana – Postal Services
    Hon. Wimalaweera Dissanayake – Lands and Eastern Development
    Hon. Jayantha Samaraweera – Megapolis and Western Development
    Hon. Udaya Padma Shantha Gunasekara – Disaster Management
    Hon. Namal Rajapaksa – Foreign Affairs
    Hon. Ramesh Pathirana – Health and Indigenous Medicine
    Hon. Ranjith Soyza – Local Government and Provincial Councils
    Hon. Widura Wickramanayake – Skills Development and Vocational Training
    Hon. Lohan Ratwatta – Urban Planning and Water Supply
    Hon. Roshan Ranasinghe – Foreign Employment Promotion and Mahaweli Development
    Hon. Wijitha Berugoda – Sustainable Development and Wildlife
    Hon. Kanaka Herath – Telecommunication and Digital Infrastructure
    Hon. Janaka Wakkumbura – Public Administration and Management
    Hon. Dilum Amunugama – Mass Media
    Hon. Shehan Semasinghe – Higher Education
    Hon. Sriyani Wijewickrama – Women and Child Affairs
    Hon. Mohan P. de Silva – Prison Reforms and Rehabilitation
    Hon. Thenuka Widanagamage – Upcountry New Villages and infrastructure
    Hon. Prasanna Ranatunga – Highways
    Hon. Udaya Gammanpila – Law and Order
    Hon. Sanath Nishantha – Fisheries and Aquatic Resources
    Hon. Tharaka Balasuriya – Tourism
    Hon. Sisira Jayakodi – Internal Affairs
    Hon. Geetha Kumarasinghe – Environment
    Hon. Kanchana Wijesekara – Sports
    Hon. Prasanna Ranaweera – Primary Industries
    Hon. Piyal Nishantha – Regional Development
    Hon. Niroshan Premaratne – Cultural Affairs
    Hon. Indika Anuruddha – Resettlement and Community Development
    Hon. D.V. Chanaka – Southern Development

Make a Comment
Make a Comment

Train services recommence
Thursday, 14 December 2017 - 15:46
The week long railway strike ended last morning (13) after a Cabinet Sub-Committee headed by Minister Dr. Sarath Amunugama agreed to look into the issues... Read More
News Image
Hiru News Programme Segments