SLFP stalwarts who lost positions prepare for a change

Friday, 21 September 2018 - 13:30

SLFP MPs who lost their electoral organizer positions state that they will not give up on their goals as they still have their options open.
Seven SLFP stalwarts who supported the Joint Opposition were removed from their electoral organizing positions during the party Central Committee meeting chaired by President Maithripala Sirisena yesterday.
Accordingly, MPs, Susil Premajayantha, WDJ Senevirathna, Anura Priyadarshana Yapa, Lakshman Yapa Abeywardana, TB Ekanayake, Chandima Weerakkody, and former MP Gunarathna Weerakoon were removed from their positions of Electoral Organisers of Kaduwela, Ratnapura, Katugampola, Hakmana, Yapahuwa, Habaraduwa, and Karandeniya respectively.
Meanwhile, SLFP General Secretary, Prof. Rohana Lakshman Piyadasa said that measures will be taken to appoint new individuals to the vacant positions. 

Chinese City of Wuhan, the epicenter of coronavirus lifts outbound travel ban after 2 months
Tuesday, 07 April 2020 - 22:18

Wuhan, the Chinese city hardest hit by the novel coronavirus outbreak, will lift outbound travel restrictions from April 8 after over two months of lockdown. People... Read More

We have only one enemy to fight, coronavirus, stay at home support the fight - PM special statement  (Video)
Tuesday, 07 April 2020 - 20:16

Prime Minister Mahinda Rajapaksa addressing the nation highlighted the work that has been carried out by the government. He made special mention of the... Read More

12 year old girl sexually abused by a group of five people repeatedly- 2 suspects arrested
Tuesday, 07 April 2020 - 21:00

Police have arrested two suspects for sexually abusing a 12-year-old girl in the Kiriibbanwewa area in Sevanagala. The girl has been abused on several... Read More