Prime Minister Mahinda Rajapaksa leader of the new alliance between SLFP and SLPP - Former President Maithripala appointed as Chairman

Monday, 17 February 2020 - 15:56


Prime Minister Mahinda Rajapaksa has been appointed as the leader and former President Maithripala Sirisena have been appointed as the Chairman of the new Alliance formed by the Sri Lanka Freedom Party and the Sri Lanka Podujana Peramuna.

Former Minister Basil Rajapaksa will be the Secretary. National Freedom Front leader Wimal Weerawansa and SLFP General Secretary Dayasiri Jayasekara have been named as national organizers.

The symbol of the Sri Lanka Freedom Podujana Alliance will be the ‘phottuwa’. SLFP General Secretary Dayasiri Jayasekara stated that the papers were handed over today to register the new Alliance with the Elections Commission.

Curfew in areas except for Western Province, Puttalam, Kandy and Jaffna to be lifted for 8 hours
Sunday, 05 April 2020 - 8:54

Curfew in areas except for Western Province, Puttalam, Kandy and Jaffna will be lifted at 6 AM tomorrow and re-imposed at 2 PM tomorrow. DIG Ajith Rohana... Read More

Electricity consumption drops by 30% due to Coronavirus
Sunday, 05 April 2020 - 8:57

Meanwhile, the Ministry of Power and Energy said that as most of the people are at home due to the curfew, electricity consumption has reduced by 30 percent. Read More

Coronavirus eradication and the New Year - Restrictions on low risk areas to be relaxed ?
Sunday, 05 April 2020 - 8:10

The government has taken a decision to continue the current Coronavirus Prevention Program until the end of the New Year season. The future action plan... Read More