Appointment of new CJ to take place tomorrow

Monday, 14 January 2013 - 19:07


Government sources state that the newly appointed Chief Justice would be sworn in tomorrow evening.


Accordingly former Attorney General Mohan Peiris is most probably set to be sworn in as the new Chief Justice.


The name of Mohan Peiris had been directed to the Parliamentary Council yesterday by President Mahinda Rajapaksa.


The parliamentary Council is set to discuss the matter tomorrow evening & notify of its decision subsequently.


Meanwhile according to emerging reports Opposition Leader Ranil Wickremesinghe and parliamentarian D.M. Swaminathan are unlikely to take part in tomorrow's parliamentary council sessions.


According to the 18th amendment to the constitution the composition of parliamentary council includes the Speaker, President, Premier, Opposition Leader and two MP's both from the opposition as well as the government representing minorities.


However it is reported that neither Opposition Leader Ranil Wickremesinghe nor parliamentarian D.M. Swaminathan have attended a single session of the parliamentary council.


However former Chief Justice Sarath N. Silva expressing his views to our news team stated that most probably a Supreme Court Magistrate would be appointed as the new Chief Justice due to the prevailing circumstances.




Red light from the postal services
Saturday, 22 February 2020 - 13:13

The joint postal trade unions front says that if a solution is not provided to their issue pertaining to recruitments on Monday, they will launch a token... Read More

Ravi, Sajith and Maddumabandara meets in Colombo
Saturday, 22 February 2020 - 12:52

A meeting has taken place in Colombo yesterday between opposition leader Sajith Premadasa and deputy leader MP Ravi Karunanayake regarding a party symbol... Read More

Minister Dinesh to address the Geneva human rights council on Wednesday
Saturday, 22 February 2020 - 12:46

Co cabinet spokesperson minister Ramesh Pathirana says that even though Sri Lanka withdraws from co-sponsoring the Geneva Human Rights Council Resolution... Read More