Hirunews Logo
Friday, 21 June 2013 - 18:38
Government nominates members to Parliamentary select committee to solve the national problem; UNP puts conditions on participation.


The Speaker informed parliament today the names of the government members appointed to the Parliamentary Select Committee to address the National issue.


Accordingly, the government has nominated 19 members including Leader of the House Minister Nimal Siripala de Silva as its chairman.


The mandate of the PSC is to make political and constitutional recommendations to enable all Sri Lankans to live as one nation.


G.L. Peries, Maithreepala Sirisena, W.D.J. Senevirathna, Anura Priyadarshana Yapa, Dinesh Gunawardana, Douglas Devananda, Susil Premajayantha, A.L.M. Athaulla, D.E.W Gunasekera, Patali Champika Ranawaka, Rishard Badi Udin, Basil Rajapaksa, Wimal Weerawansa, Lakshaman Senevirathna,  and Wasudeva Nanayakkara are the other ministers appointed to the Committee.


Deputy Minister Mutthu Sivalingam, parliamentarians Sudarshani Fernandopulle and Janaka Bandara are also included in the Committee membership.


During a vote of condolence in parliament today, Opposition Leader Ranil Wickremesinghe expressed his views on the Parliamentary Select Committee appointed by the President.



The government attempted to form this Committee in the past as well but it failed consequently as the UNP, TNA and JVP did not nominate their members.


Our news team asked Chief Opposition Whip MP John Amaratunga whether his party would nominate members to the Committee this time.



In a letter addressed to the President dated June 13th, the Opposition Leader forwarded the government 4 proposals and asked to implement them before holding elections in the North.


First among them are to appoint a civilian Governor to the Northern Provincial Council and invite Commonwealth observers to monitor the proposed North Provincial Council election.


Although the Opposition Leader requested a meeting to discuss the implementation of the 17th Amendment and other proposals, the government has not reserved a date for a meeting.


Meanwhile our news team asked JVP MP Anura Kumara Dissanayake whether his party is going to participate in the Parliamentary Select Committee.



Our news team also contacted TNA representative and, asked him his party’s decision with regard to their participation in the Committee.


The TNA representative told our news team that the majority of the Committee members are from the government, so the previous stance of the party would remain unchanged.

Make a Comment
Make a Comment

Gypsy community facing hardships
Monday, 19 February 2018 - 16:46
The Gypsy community who are found in Sri Lanka consider Kerala State in India as their native region.They speak Telugu language.The Gypsy community... Read More
News Image
Hiru News Programme Segments