Hirunews Logo
Thursday, 03 October 2013 - 19:43
MP thissa s resignation letter accepted.


UNP MP Karu Jayasuriya will not participate in the party Working Committee Meeting to be held on the 7th of this month.


Meanwhile MP Jayasuriya’s Media Unit stated that the MP will participate in future working committee meetings only after obtaining the committee membership.


However MP Jayasuriya’s Media Unit announced this afternoon that the MP had rejected the party working committee membership.


Later Jayasuriya’s Media Unit corrected its previous announcement and said that MP Jayasuriya will participate in UNP working committee meetings in the future except the one to be held on the 7th of October.


Meanwhile UNP General Secretary MP Tissa Attanayake has resigned from the post of Chief Organizer of Kundasale electorate.


He handed over his letter of resignation to party leader Ranil Wickremesinghe and the party leader had accepted the letter.


However party sources stated that UNP Leader Ranil Wickremesinghe had not accepted MP Attanayake’s letter of resignation.


A discussion regarding the changes that need to be made within the United National Party subsequent to the recently concluded provincial council election was held on the 29th of September at the Saraananda Pirivena in Anuradhapura.


The discussion was held between the leader of the UNP Ranil Wickramasinghe and the advisor for the United Bhikku Front venerable Girambe Ananda Thero.


During the course of the discussion a suggestion to appoint an advisory committee to help in the party’s future endeavours was also presented.


Speaking to the media following the discussion the leader of the UNP stated that a final decision in this regard will be taken this weekend.


Meanwhile, as a result of the discussion in Anuradhapura, another discussion with the participation of the opposition leader and a group of Buddhist monks from the United Bhikku Front has been scheduled at the Colpety Polwatte Temple.


Reports state that many top level senior members of the party including Karu Jayasuriya, Sajith Premadasa, Kabir Hashim, Joseph Michael Perera and John Amaratunga will take part in the discussion.


In addition extensive discussions will be held regarding the appointing of a party advisory committee during this discussion and party sources state that Karu Jayasuriya will be appointed as the chairman of this committee.

Make a Comment
Make a Comment

You may also like :
‘Hiru Kumara Kumariyo 2018’ underway
Tuesday, 20 March 2018 - 11:53
The second round of 'Hiru Kumara Kumariyo 2018' was held at the BMICH recently.This competition is held for a second year.An expert panel judged the performances... Read More
News Image
Hiru News Programme Segments