Hirunews Logo
Monday, 23 December 2013 - 13:15
UPDATE:Video: Alliance loses budget votes in another 3 PS's today - New chairmen for Peliyagoda, Kesbewa and Meerigama

Budgets of several UPFA controlled local government institutions were defeated again today.

The budget of the Homagama Pradeshiya Sabha was defeated with 2 votes when it was presented for the 2nd time today.

Voting was disturbed by a pandemonium when it was presented on the previous occasion.

Consequently, Western Provincial Local Government Commissioner ordered to hold it again and Chairman A.D. Kumarasiri presented it today accordingly.

The Homagama Pradeshiya Sabha consists of 20 UPFA and 3 JVP members.

Chairman Kumarasiri said that 9 UPFA members including its Deputy Chairman joined their JVP counterparts to vote against the budget and defeat his proposals.

Meanwhile budgets of Damana and Bulathsinhala Pradeshiya Sabhas were also defeated when they were presented for the first time today.

Damana Pradeshiya Sabha which consists of 9 members lost its budget with 4 majority votes after 5 UPFA members including its Deputy Chairman voted against the budget.

At the same time, the Bulathsinhala Pradeshiya Sabha which consists of 12 members also lost its budget with 11 votes when it was presented by its Chairman Thusitha Kularathna.

8 UPFA members including its Deputy Chairman joined their UNP counterparts to defeat the budget.

However the budget of Bope Poddala Pradeshiya Sabha which was defeated during the previous occasion was passed with 3 majority votes this time.

Meanwhile the Karandeniya – Welivitiya - Divitura Pradeshiya Sabha budget was also passed with majority votes today.

So far, budgets of 10 UPFA controlled local government institution have been defeated when they were presented for the 2nd time.

Currently the budgets of 9 local government institutions in which the UPFA hold power have been defeated for the 2nd time.

The UPFA has appointed new chairmen for the Meerigama Pradeshiya Sabha and the Peliyagoda and Kesbewa municipal councils thus far.

Accordingly the deputy chairman of the Meerigama PS, Sarath Nandasiri has been appointed as its chairman and the deputy chairman of the Peliyagoda municipal council, Amila Nishantha has been appointed as its chairman.

Sumana Sumanaweera who obtained the third highest number of preferential votes has been appointed the chairman of the Kesbewa municipal council.

Speaking to our news team General Secretary of the UPFA Minister Susil Premjayantha stated that nominations were presented to the elections commissioner today.

UPDATE: Monday, 23 December 2013 - 7:17 PM
Matale Municipal Council budget passed - It was illegal - The Opposition charges

Matale Municipal Council budget for next year was passed unanimously.

There were only 4 UPFA members were present at the time of the vote taking when Matale Mayor Hilmi Kareem Mohammad presented the budget.

UPFA controlled Matale Municipal Council consists of 9 UPFA members, 3 UNP members and one independent member.

However, opposition leader of the Mathale Municipal council Daljith Aluwihare states that this vote taking is illegal.

Make a Comment
Make a Comment

Hiru Siripa Karunawa - 2018
Saturday, 20 January 2018 - 17:02
The largest pilgrimage organized in the country, 'Hiru Siripa Karunawa' 2018 concluded successfully.  Devotees from several parts of the island were... Read More
News Image
Hiru News Programme Segments