Hirunews Logo
Tuesday, 01 April 2014 - 13:01
UPDATE: New Western and Southern CM's and UPFA PC Ministers will take their oaths day after tomorrow. : Video

SLFP sources said that the new Western and Southern Province Chief Ministers are scheduled to take oaths in their positions on the 4th.

Government sources had earlier said that it had been decided to appoint former Chief Ministers Prasanna Ranatunga and Shaan Wijelaal de Silva respectively as the new Western and Southern province chief ministers.  

The councilors elected for the UPFA bonus seats too were announced yesterday.

Former Southern Province Chief Minister Shaan Wijelaal de Silva told our news team that accordingly Dulshaan Kaariyawasam, Aananda Pathiranagey, Lalantha Gunasekera and Navusar Fauvusi were scheduled to be appointed to relevant provincial council posts respectively from the Galle, Hambantota, Gampaha and Colombo districts.

UPDATE: Wednesday, 02 April 2014 - 7:51
Western and Southern PC's to Prasanna and Shan again

Government sources confirmed that it has been decided to appoint Prasanna Ranatunga

and Shan Wijelal de Silva as chief ministers of the Western and the Southern

Provincial Councils respectively. However UPFA central working committee will take a final decision on these

appointment as well as appointment of councilors to bonus seats when the committee

meets this evening. Meanwhile Election Commissioner Mahinda Deshapriya and a group of SLMC

representatives had a discussion on the party objections over preferential vote  results this afternoon.

 The Election Commissioner announced that he would hold a media conference tomorrow to

describe the final decision over the issue. One of the SLMC candidates who complained to the Election Commission against

preferential vote results Abdul Hai Mohideen expressed is

UPDATE: Tuesday, 01 April 2014 - 07:34 PM
Prasanna and Shan ready to shoulder any responsibility - SLFP Central Working Committee to meet this evening

Former Chief Ministers of the Western and Southern Provincial Councils say that they are ready to hold any responsibility cast on them by the President.

However UPFA stated during a media briefing yesterday that the party central working committee would be presided by the President at Temple Trees at 6pm today to discuss about the appointment of chief ministers and councilors to the bonus seats.

Former Western Provincial Council Chief Minister Prasanna Ranatunga secured 249 thousand 678 votes from the Gampaha district to top the preferential lists of both Provincial Councils this time.

He was able to obtain 63 thousand 340 more votes than the votes he obtained in the PC election in 2009.

Former Southern Provincial Council Chief Minster Shan Wijelal obtained 95 thousand 860 to top the preferential lists of the three districts of the Southern Province.

Shan Wijelal who secured 5 thousand 566 more votes than his preferential votes in 2009 described his future plans to our news team.
Make a Comment
Make a Comment

Gypsy community facing hardships
Monday, 19 February 2018 - 16:46
The Gypsy community who are found in Sri Lanka consider Kerala State in India as their native region.They speak Telugu language.The Gypsy community... Read More
News Image
Hiru News Programme Segments