Hirunews Logo
Friday, 04 April 2014 - 8:25
Video : Update : New Provincial Ministers given an option after 2 years

New Chief Ministers of the two provincial councils, their ministers and the UPFA Provincial councilors took oaths before President Mahinda Rajapaksa at the Presidential Secretariat this morning.

Western Province former Chief Minister Prasanna Ranatunga took oaths as the new Western Province chief minister while Southern Provincial Council former Chief Minister Shan Wijelal de Silva took oaths as the new Southern Province chief minister.

Western Province Chief Minister Prasanna Ranatunga has also been appointed as the Minister for Finance and Planning, Law and Order, Local Government, Land, Education, Manpower, Engineering Services and Information in the province.

Udaya Gammanpila was appointed as the Agriculture and Environment Minister of the Western PC.

Nimal Lanza was sworn in as Minister of Transport, Sports and Youth and Women Affairs, Food Supply and Distribution, Cooperatives, Domestic Economic Development, Fisheries and Village Development, Tourism, Investment Promotion Coordination and Livestock Development of the Western Province.

Ranjith Somawansa was appointed as the Health and Indigenous Medicine Minister while Upali Kodikara was named Power and Energy Minister in the Western Province.

Meanwhile, Southern Province Chief Minister Shan Wijayalal was sworn in as Minister Finance and Planning, Law and Order, Local Government and Transport, Health and Indigenous Medicine, Tourism and Engineering Services.

Chandima Rasaputhra was appointed as Highways Minister, U.G.D. Ariyatilaka was appointed Irrigation Minister and D.V. Upul was named as Minister of Fisheries, Animal Food Production and Development, Environment and Village Industries, Power and Rural Infrastructure.

However one more ministerial post is still vacant and the vacancy will be filled in by a Communist Party candidate, either Weerasumana Weerasinghe or Bindu Weerasinghe who were elected at the recent polls.

Meanwhile President Mahinda Rajapaksa speaking at the swearing in ceremony stated that it is the responsibility of everyone to serve the public without riding on their victory.

The President also stated that it is not possible to give positions to everyone through the Provincial Council system but said that if anyone was willing to handover their posts to party seniors in the respective provincial councils after 2 years, the party would facilitate it.

Update : Friday, 04 April 2014 - 7:25
Gammanpila, Kodikara, Lansa and Ranjith Somawansa sworn in as Western PC Ministers. Rasaputhra, D V Upul and U G D Ariyathilaka appointed for the South.

The President Media Unit stated that Udaya Gammanpila, Nimal Lanza, Upali Kodikara and Ranjith Somawansa took oaths as the new ministers of the Western Provincial Council.

Western Provincial Council former minister Jagath Ange has not received a ministerial post this time and Ranjith Somawansa has been appointed a minister instead.

Meanwhile D.V. Upul, U.G.D. Ariyatilaka and Chandima Rasaputra took oath as news ministers of the Southern Provincial council.

The new three ministers held positions in the previous provincial council as well.

However a President Media Unit spokesman stated that one more ministerial post is still vacant and the vacancy will be filled in due course.

Update : Friday, 04 April 2014 - 15:03
Prasanna and Shan sworn in as Chief Ministers

Prasanna Ranathunga and Shan Wijelal De Silva sworn in as Chief Ministers of Western and Southern provincial councils before the President.

Update : Friday, 04 April 2014 - 10:52
Western and Southern Chief Ministers take their oaths today.

SLFP sources said that the new Western and Southern Province Chief Ministers are scheduled to take oaths in their positions today

Former Chief Ministers Prasanna Ranatunga and Shaan Wijelaal de Silva will take oaths as the new Western and Southern province chief ministers.  

A senior SLFP spokesperson stated that provincial councilors who were selected for the 2 provinces are also likely to take oaths before President Mahinda Rajapakse today.
Make a Comment
Make a Comment

You may also like :
‘Hiru Kumara Kumariyo 2018’ underway
Tuesday, 20 March 2018 - 11:53
The second round of 'Hiru Kumara Kumariyo 2018' was held at the BMICH recently.This competition is held for a second year.An expert panel judged the performances... Read More
News Image
Hiru News Programme Segments