Hirunews Logo
HiruNews
HiruNews
HiruNews
%27Blood+Moon%27+set+to+wow+sky-watchers
Wednesday, 08 October 2014 - 10:13
'Blood Moon' set to wow sky-watchers
25

Shares
3,033

Views
A total lunar eclipse will be visible across much of the Americas and Asia in the coming hours.

The eclipse starts at 08:00 GMT (04:00 EDT), reaching totality just before sunrise at 10:25 GMT (06:25 EDT).

During the eclipse - which is the second to occur this year - our only natural satellite will be fully covered by the Earth's shadow.

The Moon will appear orange or red, the result of sunlight scattering off our atmosphere, hence the name Blood Moon.

Weather permitting, sky-watchers in in North America, Australia, western South America and parts of East Asia will be able to see the spectacle.

However, Europe, Africa and the eastern part of Brazil will miss out on the show.

The last total lunar eclipse occurred on 15 April, and the next is expected to take place on 4 April 2015.

There will be two full lunar eclipses again next year.


Source-BBC
Make a Comment
Make a Comment

DOWNLOAD HIRUNEWS APP ON ANDROID & APPLE
You may also like :
HiruNews
Thursday, 16 August 2018 - 16:24
Mangroves play a critical role in maintaining the ecological balance in Sri Lanka's coastal areas.However, some money-hungry people do not understand this.Our... Read More
HiruNews
News Image
Hiru News Programme Segments
HiruNews
HiruNews
HiruNews
HiruNews
HiruNews
HiruNews
HiruNews
HiruNews
HiruNews
1,968 Views
HiruNews
HiruNews
HiruNews
1,098 Views
HiruNews
HiruNews
HiruNews
6,700 Views
HiruNews
HiruNews
HiruNews
16,896 Views
HiruNews
HiruNews
HiruNews
65 Views
HiruNews
HiruNews
HiruNews
45,244 Views
Top