Thursday, 29 October 2015 - 7:55
Sri Lanka – Indonesia Business Council holds it’s 22nd Annual General Meeting

Indonesia Business Council (SLIBC) which functions under the aegis of the Ceylon Chamber of Commerce held its 22nd Annual General Meeting on 16th September 2015, at Taj Samudra. SLIBC was established in 1991 with a view to promote Trade, Investment, Tourism and Services between the two Countries.


His Excellency Harimawan Suyitno, Ambassador of the Republic of Indonesia in Sri Lanka and the Patron of the Council graced the occasion as the Chief Guest.  Addressing the Members, His Excellency congratulated the newly elected Committee and emphasized that liaising with Indonesia, one of the fastest growing economies in the world, Sri Lanka could benefit through many avenues.


Mrs. Anoja Wijeyesekera, former Sri Lankan Ambassador to Indonesia, who was the Guest Speaker for the evening, made a  presentation titled "Trade with Indonesia: some insights and suggestions for improvement."  She made an insightful analysis of Sri Lanka's declining export performance  and the issues facing the Sri Lankan exporters and made several suggestions to overcome these  problems.  She also suggested some recommendations for the Government of Sri Lanka, the BOI and the Chamber of Commerce.  Her message was clear.  We need to more to help our exporters to  tap into the huge Indonesian market, particularly its large  Middle Class Affluent Consumers. [MACS]


Mr. Jayantha Rathnayake, Managing Director, Ceyline Holdings (Pvt) Ltd. was elected as the President of SLIBC for the Year 2015 – 2016.   In his address, Mr. Rathnayake thanked the outgoing President Mr.  Jatinder Biala. The President also mentioned that SLIBC will take the required efforts to strengthen the trade relationship between Sri Lanka and Indonesia.                          

The two Vice Presidents are Mr. Kalinga Wijesekara of Serendib Flour Mills (Pvt) Ltd & Mr. Moiz Mohamedally of Avalon Enterprises (Pvt) Ltd.


The following were elected to the Committee for the Year 2015 - 2016.

Civaro Lanka (Pvt) Ltd.

Douglas & Sons (Pvt) Ltd.

Daya Constructions (Pvt) Ltd.

Geocyc (Pvt) Ltd.


Past Presidents:

Mr. Jatinder Biala

Mr. Anton Godfrey

Mr. T. Someswaran

Mr. Hussain S. Hashim &

Mr. Nihal Gooneratne    


Ms Cherryl Rodrigo represented the Ceylon Chamber of Commerce.


Mr Jatinder Biala, the outgoing President briefed the activities done during the financial year under review and thanked the Committee for their unstinted support.  

Make a Comment
Make a Comment