Tuesday, 05 January 2016 - 10:58
Sri Lanka wins toss, bowls in 5th ODI vs. New Zealand



Sri Lanka won the toss and elected to bowl in the fifth and final one-day international against New Zealand at Mount Maunganui on Tuesday (05).

Opener Martin Guptill scored 102 from 109 balls to lead New Zealand to 294-5 batting first in the fifth and final game of the one-day series against Sri Lanka at the Bay Oval stadium.

Guptill anchored the New Zealand innings until the 39th over through partnerships of 122 for the second wicket with Kane Williamson and 81 for the third with Ross Taylor.

Both Williamson and Taylor made 61. Guptill’s watchful innings was in marked contrast to his previous aggressive knocks in earlier matches of the series, including 93 off just 30 balls in the second match.

For the Lankans Nuwan Kulasekara picked up 3 for 53 while Nuwan Pradeep and TM Dilshan picked up a wicket a piece

Fast bowler Trent Boult returns to the New Zealand lineup after being rested through the first four matches of the series, replacing Mitchell McClenaghan. Kane Williamson will again lead the New Zealand team in the absence of Brendon McCullum who has a back injury while paceman Tim Southee was ruled out with a foot injury.

Seamer Nuwan Pradeep returns to the Sri Lanka lineup in place of leg-spinner Jeffrey Vandersay as the tourists look to exploit a hard, fast pitch at Bay Oval.

New Zealand leads the series 2-1.


New Zealand:

Martin Guptill, Tom Latham, Kane Williamson (captain), Ross Taylor, Henry Nicholls, Mitchell Santner, Luke Ronchi, Adam Milne, Ish Sodhi, Matt Henry, Trent Boult.

Sri Lanka:

Danushka Gunathilaka, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Lahiru Thirimanne, Dinesh Chandimal, Angelo Mathews (captain), Milinda Siriwardana, Chamara Kapugedera, Nuwan Kulasekara, Thisara Perera, Dushmantha Chameera, Nuwan Pradeep.

Umpires: Billy Bowden (NZL), Michael Gough (ENG)

TV umpire: Richard Illingworth (ENG)

Match referee: Andy Pycroft (ZIM)

Make a Comment
Make a Comment