Monday, 01 February 2016 - 10:08
New Zealand pick spin trio for World T20



Canterbury lefthander Henry Nicholls is the surprise pick in New Zealand's world T20 squad to contest the event in India in March.

Nicholls has played just seven ODIs and is uncapped at international T20 level, but has impressed the selectors and gets the spot many may have assumed would go to Tom Latham.

There are four fast-medium specialist bowlers - Tim Southee, Trent Boult, Mitch McClenaghan and speedster Adam Milne - while leg spinner Ish Sodhi has won the spot as third spinner in the 15-man squad.

Veteran off spinner Nathan McCullum, whose last T20 international was in South Africa last August, is recalled for a final swansong before retirement.

His season has been hindered by injury but he had a decent Georgie Pie domestic T20 competition for beaten finalists Otago, taking 13 wickets at 16, with an economy rate of 5.71.

New Zealand are in a tough group, alongside India, Australia, Pakistan and a qualifier, probably Bangladesh.

New Zealand's squad for the world T20 in India:

Kane Williamson (c), Martin Guptill, Colin Munro, Ross Taylor, Henry Nicholls, Grant Elliott, Corey Anderson, Luke Ronchi, Mitch Santner, Ish Sodhi, Nathan McCullum, Adam Milne, Tim Southee, Mitch McClenaghan, Trent Boult.

New Zealand's schedule:

March 15: v India, Nagpur

March 17: v Australia, Dharamsala

March 22: v Pakistan, Mohali

March 26: v qualifier (likely Bangladesh), Kolkata

Make a Comment
Make a Comment