Friday, 05 February 2016 - 16:22
India Announce World T20 Squad



The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) on Friday announced the 15-member Indian squad for Asia Cup and the ICC World T20 tournaments, including the uncapped Pawan Negi and paving the way for Bengal pacer Mohammed Shami’s comeback.

Mahendra Singh Dhoni will captain the team for both the tournaments.

Team: MS Dhoni (Captain), Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, Virat Kohli, Suresh Raina, Yuvraj Singh, Ajinkya Rahane, Ravindra Jadeja, H Pandya, R Ashwin, Harbhajan Singh, Jasprit Bumrah, Ashish Nehra, Pawan Negi, Mohammed Shami.

India will play a three-game T20 series at home against Sri Lanka from February 9, ahead of the multi-nation T20 events.

The Asia Cup will be held from February 24 to March 6, after a four-team qualifying event to spot one qualifier for the tournament proper from February 19-22.

India take on hosts Bangladesh in the tournament opener at Mirpur followed by matches against arch-foes Pakistan (Feb 27), Sri Lanka (Mar 1) and qualifiers (Mar 3).

This is the first time the Asia Cup is being played in the T20 format, in a change from the earlier 50-over competitions.

In the World Twenty20 championship, commencing on March 8, India have been seeded in the Super 10 and will play New Zealand in their opening game on March 15 at Nagpur’s VCA Stadium in Jamtha.

Make a Comment
Make a Comment