Thursday, 10 November 2016 - 11:49
Young racers crowned at BGRC Karting Championship- [photos]



The third round of the Bandaragama Go-kart Racing Club Karting Championship 2016 kicked off at the Sri Lanka Karting Circuit (SLKC) in Bandaragama.

Mevan Perera won the opening event of the day, the Novices Class 'A', ahead of Vinusha Sanjula Periyapperuma and Judian Anthony who finished second and third respectively after a tense battle.

Novices Class 'B' saw young Ishan Udara Munaweera cruising towards the victory while Dushan Silva settled in for a second place finish ahead of Sanjaya Malindra Perera who came in third.

In the Novices Class 'C' event, Ryan Jude De Bruin was the quickest ahead of Lahiru S Perera, but a tough battle for the next slot on the podium saw R Kanishka beating H Janith Pieris to the last step of the podium.

Meanwhile, in the senior category Saurika Livindu came in first in the Senior Class 'D'. Trailing behind him was Jason Carron and Himeth Moremada who finished second and third respectively.

Seasoned campaigner Bryan Perera had no difficulty in winning the Senior Class 'E' category ahead of Dinesh Pathirana and Angelo Thilanga Senarathne who booked the second and third spots on the podium.

In the Senior Class 'F', Shakthi Anuradha Gunasekara reached the chequered flag before K A Dhanushka Suraweera who won the second place. Ranjaya Dissanayake was placed third.

In the Ladies Open event, Ashvitha Wickrama steered her vehicle through the tricky corners and finished her race ahead of Thilini Dinushika Wijerathna, second, and Gayani Wasana who came third.

The next round of the Championship will be held on January 28, 2017 at the same venue.

Following are photographs of the event..

Make a Comment
Make a Comment