Saturday, 21 October 2017 - 17:28
Thisara Perera named as Sri Lanka T/20 captain



As a number of regular players have opted to skip the Lahore T/20 on 29th of October, Sri Lanka Cricket Selectors have named a new look squad for the 3-match series.

Thisara Perera has been named as the skipper.

Two days ago, the SLC chief selector Graeme Labrooy had confirmed that only those willing to play all of the T20s would be picked to play against Pakistan.

That decision was taken by the board in consultation with the Sri Lankan Sports Ministry and there were nine changes to the squad that last played India in September.

Thisara is actually the sixth man to captain Sri Lanka this year, following Tharanga, Angelo Mathews, Rangana Herath, Dinesh Chandimal and Chamara Kapugedera.

Opener Danushka Gunathilaka regained his place after completing a suspension for a lethargic attitude towards training. Sadeera Samarawickrama, the 22-year old batsman who won his first Test and ODI caps on this tour, is in line to make to make his T20I debut.

He was one of two uncapped players in the shortest format, alongside wicketkeeper Minod Bhanuka, who will be getting his first taste of any kind of international cricket. Sri Lanka has also recalled offspinner Mahela Udawatee, who has not played for them in eight years.

Sri Lanka squad:

Thisara Perera (capt)

Dilshan Munaweera

Danushka Gunathilaka

Sadeera Samarawickrama

Ashan Priyanjan

Mahela Udawatte

Dasun Shanaka

Minod Bhanuka (wk)

Sachith Pathirana

Vikum Sanjaya

Lahiru Gamage

Seekkuge Prasanna

Vishwa Fernando

Isuru Udana

Jeffrey Vandersay

Chaturanga de Silva

Make a Comment
Make a Comment