Monday, 06 November 2017 - 10:24
Sri Lanka squad for India Tests announced, Nuwan Pradeep rested


Batsmen Kusal Mendis and Kaushal Silva, and seamer Nuwan Pradeep have omitted from Sri Lanka’s squad named for the three-Test series in India.
Batsman Dhananjaya de Silva and all-rounder Dasun Shanaka have been named in the 15-member squad.
Angelo Mathews has also returned.
The selectors have rested Pradeep. SLC is handling the fast bowler with care due to his history of injury problems, with the three Tests against India deemed too much of a risk following an injury scare ahead of the second Test against Pakistan.
It is likely he will return for the limited-overs series.
On the batting front, the selectors had felt Kaushal Silva had not done enough to retain his place in the squad after scoring only 67 runs in four innings against Pakistan.
The only real surprise in the squad was the omission of Mendis, the technically sound 22-year-old batsman has been earmarked as a potential future captain and has been a mainstay in the Test side since his debut last year, but an underwhelming series against Pakistan has led selectors to believe he would be better served by a stint improving his game back home.
Another poor return against India, they felt, would do more harm than good.
Dhananjaya and Shanaka were rewarded for their performances for Sri Lanka ‘A’ in the Caribbean last month.
Dhananjaya, who had led Sri Lanka A to a 2-1 series win in the unofficial Tests, finished as the top scorer for the team with 260 runs at an average of 52.
Shanaka was the second-highest scorer for the side with 183 runs in two matches at an average of 61.
Shanaka, who has only played in one Test to date, may also be expected to fill in the role of the fast-bowling all-rounder with SLC confirming that Mathews will be playing only as a batsman in the Tests.
Sri Lanka Test squad:
Dinesh Chandimal (captain)
Dimuth Karunaratne
Dhananjaya de Silva
Sadeera Samarawickrema
Angelo Mathews
Lahiru Thirimanne
Rangana Herath
Suranga Lakmal
Dilruwan Perera
Lahiru Gamage
Lakshan Sandakan
Vishwa Fernando
Dasun Shanaka
Niroshan Dickwella (wk)
Roshen Silva

Match schedule:
Make a Comment
Make a Comment