Friday, 15 December 2017 - 19:35
Malinga dropped from T20 squad


Sri Lanka Cricket today (15) announced the 15-member Sri Lanka squad for the upcoming 3-match T20 International series against India.

Sports Minister Dayasiri Jayasekera has also ratified the team.

However, veteran fast bowler Lasith Malinga has been dropped from the squad.

Malinga's exit from the BPL had been vexing - he returned to Sri Lanka ahead of the final of that tournament, which his team, Rangpur Riders, was playing in.

Few details were given about what precipitated that departure, and the Sri Lankan selectors have not divulged why he is being rested for the forthcoming series.

What is clear, however, is that his form has been extremely patchy of late. His economy rate in his two most-recent BPL games was well over 10.

His international form since returning from ankle surgery in 2015 has been modest as well.

Though available for ODIs, Malinga has already been dropped from that format.

The absence of Lakmal and Malinga leaves the seam-bowling contingent short of experience - Dushmantha Chameera and Nuwan Pradeep having played 15 T20 internationals between them, while Vishwa Fernando is uncapped.

Sri Lanka does have the seam bowling of Angelo Mathews and captain Thisara Perera to call upon, however.

The first match will be played at Cuttak on 20th of this month.

Sri Lanka T20 squad:

Upul Tharanga
Dhanushka Gunatilleke
Kusal Janith Perera
Sadeera Samarawickrema
Angelo Mathews
Asela Gunaratne
Niroshan Dickwella
Thisara Perera (Capt.)
Chathuranga de Silva
Dasun Shanaka
Sachith Pathirana
Akila Dananjaya
Dushmantha Chameera
Nuwan Pradeep
Vishwa Fernando
Make a Comment
Make a Comment