Friday, 29 December 2017 - 17:11
West Indies suffer another defeat


Dynamic fifties from Colin Munro and Glenn Phillips laid the base, the lower order pitched in, then a sharp New Zealand attack aided by even sharper catching, saw the hosts trounce West Indies for the 6th time on tour.
The visitors were also complicit in their own demise, leaking too many runs in the second half of New Zealand's innings, and later failing to gain any momentum in their chase of 188.
In the 10th over, they were 61 for 3, the required rate already having risen to 12.
Batsmen continued to fall as the pressure mounted. The eventual margin of defeat was 47 runs, the last wicket falling in the 19th over.
Munro would go in to complete a fifty off 31 deliveries, before eventually being caught by a diving Carlos Brathwaite at long on.
The 86-run stand for the second wicket was ended, but Phillips - who had cruised to only 31 off 29 balls at the time, kicked on.
He cracked Brathwaite for a six and a four, one boundary either side of the wicket, next over, before meting out punishment even to Badree, who is perhaps the most indomitable operator in the T20 game.
New Zealand - 187/7 in 20 overs
Colin Munro 53
Glenn Phillips 55
Carlos Brathwaite 2/38
West Indies - 140 all out in 19 overs
Andre Fletcher 27
Seth Rance 3/30
Tim Southee 3/36

Make a Comment
Make a Comment