Tuesday, 06 March 2018 - 22:37
Nidahas Trophy: Sri Lanka beats India



Sri Lanka beat India by 5 wickets in the curtain raiser of the Nidahas trophy T20I tri-nation series at R. Premadasa Stadium in Colombo.

Chasing 175 to win, Sri Lanka reached the target in 18.3 overs losing 5 wickets.

Earlier, the home team won the toss and opted to field first.

The visitors lost their senior batsmen in skipper Rohit Sharma (00) and Suresh Raina (01) within the first 2 overs.

Then Shikar Dhawan and Manish Pandey steadied the innings adding 95 runs to the 3rd wicket.

Pandey made 37 off 35 balls and Dhawan top scored with 90 off 49 balls.

His knock included 6 fours and 5 sixes.

R. Pant (23 off 23) and Dinesh Kartik (13 off 6) ensured India reaching 174 for 6 off their 20 overs.

Dushmantha Chameera bagged 2 for 33 runs.

In reply, Sri Lanka lost inform Kusal Mendis for 11 and then Dhanushka Gunatilaka and Kusal Perera added 58 runs for the 2nd wicket.

Gunatilaka made 19.

Although Sri Lanka lost wicket of Dinesh Chandimal (14), Perera ensured run rate is intact with his power hitting.

He scored 66 off 37 balls with 6 fours and 4 sixes.

Upul Tharanga crawled to 17 off 18 balls.

Then all-rounders in Dasun Shanaka and Tisara Perera saw Sri Lanka winning the game with some lusty blows against the Indian bowlers.

Shanaka made 15 not out while Perera struck 22 off 10 balls.

Next match will be played at the same venue between India and Bangladesh on Thursday.

Make a Comment
Make a Comment