Thursday, 26 April 2018 - 16:22
Intl. Cricket Council extends T20I status to all 104 members


The International Cricket Council has decided to extend T20 International status to all 104 members.
The ICC CEO David Richardson revealed this while speaking to the media after the ICC meeting in Kolkata today (Apr. 26).
"All Women's team matches will be awarded T20 International status on July 1st, 2018. All the men's team matches will be given T20 International status on January 1st, 2019," said Richardson.
The ICC also intends to take stricter action in terms of Code and Conduct among players, in light of the recent ball-tampering saga which led to one-year bans for Australia's Steve Smith and David Warner.
"We want penalties, fines are not proving to be an answer. We want cricket committee to review current penalties and come to us with recommendations. We're planning to get the likes of Allan Border, Shaun Pollock on the committee," said Richardson.
"There were some concerns that we will not be able to get to an agreement as to which team would play who. Fortunately, all the fixtures making up to this league were agreed," he added.
"In all likelihood, the Champions Trophy in 2021 will be a World T20 There are occasions where T20 Leagues are competing with international bilateral series. We need to look at our regulations to see how we can allow that to happen."
Make a Comment
Make a Comment