Tuesday, 08 May 2018 - 11:42
Tim Paine named Australia’s ODI skipper


Tim Paine and Aaron Finch will share Australia's limited-overs leadership duties in England this June, with wicketkeeper Alex Carey promoted to the Twenty20 vice-captaincy.
Also, Nathan Lyon and favoured son Shaun Marsh have been recalled in the first squads to bear the selection fingerprints of the new coach Justin Langer.
In the absence of the suspended Steven Smith and David Warner, Paine has been elevated to the ODI captaincy 12 months out from the 2019 World Cup in England, as Langer seeks continuity and consistency of message in a team now searching for a fresh outlook and identity following disastrous South Africa Test tour.
The selection chairman Trevor Hohns made it clear this was a short-term choice, with options still open for the captaincy ahead of the global tournament.
At the same time, the selected ODI combination is intended to bring about a change in the team's 50-over fortunes after an underwhelming 12 months in the format, with England looming not only as hosts but one of the hardest sides to beat in the World Cup, a tournament Australia won on home soil in 2015.
Australia One-Day squad:
Tim Paine (capt & wk), Aaron Finch (vice-capt), Ashton Agar, Alex Carey (wk), Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Nathan Lyon, Glenn Maxwell, Shaun Marsh, Jhye Richardson, Kane Richardson, D'Arcy Short, Billy Stanlake, Marcus Stoinis, Andrew Tye
Australia T20 squad:
Aaron Finch (capt), Alex Carey (vice-capt & wk), Ashton Agar, Travis Head, Nic Maddinson, Glenn Maxwell, Jhye Richardson, Kane Richardson, D'Arcy Short, Billy Stanlake, Marcus Stoinis, Mitchell Swepson, Andrew Tye, Jack Wildermuth
Make a Comment
Make a Comment