Bangladesh+in+doubt+over+Asia+Cup+Final
Sunday, 25 March 2012 - 8:12
Bangladesh in doubt over Asia Cup Final
8

Shares
975

Views

The Bangladesh Cricket Board has said it will complain to the Asian Cricket Council about an incident in the final over of Bangladesh's chase in the Asia Cup final against Pakistan.

The incident, during the first ball of the 50th over, involved a collision between the bowler Aizaz Cheema and Mahmudullah as the latter tried to come back for a second run - something the BCB claims the Pakistan bowler did deliberately.

Law 37 of the rules of cricket sanctions a strict penalty for the fielding team if a fielder is found by the umpire to deliberately obstruct a batsman while attempting a run.

Whether or not there was intent behind the collision is for the umpire to determine and in this case, after the players had collided, the umpire Steve Davis was seen having a word with both players.

Bangladesh needed nine to win at the start of the 50th over but they lost by two runs.

 

Had Pakistan been penalised, Bangladesh's task of chasing down 237 for a win would have been made significantly easier.

Make a Comment
Make a Comment

DOWNLOAD HIRUNEWS APP ON ANDROID & APPLE