Friday, 06 April 2012 - 18:59
Dilshan fined for over-appealing



The International Cricket Council said today that Tillakaratne Dilshan has been fined 10% of his match fee for over-the-top appealing during the second Test against England,

Bowling during England's first innings yesterday, Dilshan charged towards the striker's end celebrating a dismissal even before the decision had been given.

When he reached the other end, Dilshan turned around and appealed repeatedly, according to the charge laid by on-field umpires Bruce Oxenford and Asad Rauf, and TV umpire Rod Tucker.

Match referee Javagal Srinath said in a statement that Dilshan accepted that he had violated the ICC's code of conduct.

Dilshan is expected to lose around $500 due to the penalty.

Meanwhile, Graeme Swann took two wickets in the penultimate over of the day to give England a chance of winning the second Test against Sri Lanka.

He bowled danger man Thilan Samaraweera, to end a 90-run partnership with Mahela Jayawardene, before repeating the trick to dismiss Suraj Randiv for a duck.

He turned the match firmly in England's favour, with Sri Lanka leading by just 33 runs with four wickets remaining.

Mahela Jayawardene on 55 remains at the crease alongside Angelo Mathews.

Sri Lanka closed the day on 218 runs for the loss of 6 wickets.

Make a Comment
Make a Comment