x
<
You may also like -
13
shares
1,613
Views
Queen s Baton arrives in Sri Lanka  
Sunday, 20 October 2013 - 19:42 | Download hirunews app on Android & Apple
Share this article
queen-s-baton-arrives-in-sri-lanka

The Queens Baton Relay ,for the 2014 Commonwealth Games to be held in Glasgow next year, arrived in Sri Lanka yesterday.

Over a period of 288 days, the baton will visit 71 countries covering over 190,000 kilometres.

The baton, which was received by Sri Lankan Olympic Committee officials at the Colombo international airport , was taken to the Independence Square by the former national hurdler Sriyani Kulawansa.

This morning the baton was taken to Kandy by a special train, which stopped at Veyangoda, Polgahawela, Rambukkana and Kandugannawa railyway stations where special receptions were hosted by communities.

From Sri Lanka, the baton will be heading to the Maldives capital, Male.



,baton, which, lanka, special, taken, train, polgahawela, veyangoda, stopped, morning, hurdler, sriyani, kulawansa, kandy, kandugannawa, communities, heading, maldives, capital, hosted, receptions, national, railyway, stations, where, rambukkana, independence, period, visit, countries, covering, yesterday, arrived, relay, commonwealth, games, glasgow, kilometres, received, international, airport, queens, square, colombo, officials, lankan, olympic, committee, former
Add/ View comments
  1,613 Views
Share this article
Archived Comments
Share this article with a friend
Provide your friends' Email address (Upto Five multiple email addresses can be separated with a comma and should not contain any in between spaces.)
     
Follow Us On
Saturday, 25 January 2014
1121 Views
Saturday, 02 November 2013
2815 Views
Saturday, 12 October 2013
302 Views
Saturday, 05 October 2013
280 Views
Saturday, 28 September 2013
710 Views
Sunday, 04 May 2014
686 Views
Sunday, 27 October 2013
644 Views
Sunday, 11 August 2013
494 Views
Sunday, 28 April 2013
437 Views
Sunday, 03 February 2013
845 Views