x
<
You may also like -
6
shares
958
Views
Queen s Baton arrives in Sri Lanka  
Sunday, 20 October 2013 - 19:42 | Download hirunews app on Android & Apple
Share this article
queen-s-baton-arrives-in-sri-lanka

The Queens Baton Relay ,for the 2014 Commonwealth Games to be held in Glasgow next year, arrived in Sri Lanka yesterday.

Over a period of 288 days, the baton will visit 71 countries covering over 190,000 kilometres.

The baton, which was received by Sri Lankan Olympic Committee officials at the Colombo international airport , was taken to the Independence Square by the former national hurdler Sriyani Kulawansa.

This morning the baton was taken to Kandy by a special train, which stopped at Veyangoda, Polgahawela, Rambukkana and Kandugannawa railyway stations where special receptions were hosted by communities.

From Sri Lanka, the baton will be heading to the Maldives capital, Male.



,baton, which, lanka, special, taken, train, polgahawela, veyangoda, stopped, morning, hurdler, sriyani, kulawansa, kandy, kandugannawa, communities, heading, maldives, capital, hosted, receptions, national, railyway, stations, where, rambukkana, independence, period, visit, countries, covering, yesterday, arrived, relay, commonwealth, games, glasgow, kilometres, received, international, airport, queens, square, colombo, officials, lankan, olympic, committee, former
Add/ View comments
  958 Views
Share this article
Share this article with a friend
Provide your friends' Email address (Upto Five multiple email addresses can be separated with a comma and should not contain any in between spaces.)
     
Comments
Add Comment
Name (required)
E-mail (required)
Human User Verification (required)
CAPTCHA Image
Follow Us On
Saturday, 25 January 2014
917 Views
Saturday, 02 November 2013
2605 Views
Saturday, 12 October 2013
247 Views
Saturday, 05 October 2013
221 Views
Saturday, 28 September 2013
584 Views
Sunday, 04 May 2014
448 Views
Sunday, 27 October 2013
553 Views
Sunday, 11 August 2013
432 Views
Sunday, 28 April 2013
377 Views
Sunday, 03 February 2013
789 Views