Monday, 07 April 2014 - 9:37
Sri Lanka beat India by six wickets to lift the World Twenty20 2014 title.


The bridesmaid finally had her time under the Sher-e-Bangla Stadium lights, graduating from second best, as Sri Lanka ended a long sequence of losses in the final of ICC events.
Having lost four finals in the last seven years, Sri Lanka finally broke the jinx in some style in the final of the ICC World Twenty20 2014, overwhelming hitherto unbeaten India by six wickets last night.
The scenes of unrestrained joy with the entire team tumbling on to the field once Thisara Perera had lashed R Ashwin over his head for the winning boundary showed just how the finals losses had hurt the Sri Lankans, and how desperate the team was for the sweet taste of success for the first time since it jointly won the Champions Trophy with India in 2002.
In a low-scoring final that seldom flirted with the gripping, Sri Lanka was every bit the superior side, restricting a lacklustre India, to 130 for 4, then hunting the target down by reaching 132 for 4 with 13 deliveries to spare.
Kohli had held the Indian innings together after Lasith Malinga had won an important toss, but his best wasn’t enough.

The target of 131 ought not have tested Sri Lanka too much, and in the end it didn’t, as Sangakkara and Mahela Jayawardena left the T20 International scene with, at last, winners’ medals around their necks, but there were a few mid-innings hiccups that were only settled once Thisara, drafted in for Seekkuge Prasanna, lashed out at Amit Mishra’s leg-spin.
Make a Comment
Make a Comment