No-confidence motion against Minister John

Friday, 06 February 2015 - 13:54

The Opposition is scheduled to hand over the No confidence motion against Public Security, Christian Religious Affairs and Disaster Management Minister John Amaratunga to Speaker Chamal Rajapaksa today.

UPFA MP and former minister W.D.J. Seneviratne said that over 100 MPs have already signed the motion against Minister Amaratunga.

The Opposition is bringing the motion against Minister John Amaratunga in protest of the assault on 4 Wattala Pradeshiya Sabha members including its Chairman on the 30th of last month.

Opposition Leader Nimal Siripala de Silva announced in parliament for the first time about the no confidence motion against minister Amaratunga when parliament met on the 2nd of this month.

Meanwhile our attempt to contact Minister John Amaratunga to comment on the issue was futile as the minister did not respond.

Four (04) more persons confirmed for Covid -19: SL Country total increases to 2,828
Monday, 03 August 2020 - 21:24

Four arrivals from Saudi Arabia have tested positive for Covid-19, increasing the total infected in Sri Lanka to 2,828. Covid-19 Situation Report as at... Read More

Every government that came to power violated the trust of the people (Video)
Monday, 03 August 2020 - 21:27

The Leader of the Jathika Jana Balavegaya Anura Kumara Dissanayake states that the governments that came to stop fraud in the country are creating racist... Read More

No force can weaken the UNP (video)
Monday, 03 August 2020 - 21:25

Leader of the United National Party Ranil Wickremesinghe states that no political force can weaken the party and that the home economy can be strengthened... Read More