Interim Budget passed with a majority

Saturday, 07 February 2015 - 19:10

The interim budget presented by the government was passed with 163 majority votes in the parliament today.

The interim budget received 164 votes for and 1 vote against

Galle District parliamentarian Ajith Kumara who serves as an independent MP cast his vote against the interim budget

Parliamentarians Dinesh Gunawardena, DEW Gunasekara, Tissa Vitharana, Vasudeva Nanayakkara and Vimal Weerawansa refrained from voting.

Following the vote taking, Prime Minister Ranil Wickremesinghe expressed his gratitude to all MPs who cast their votes as well as those who refrained from voting.