No-confidence against MP John to Parliament

Saturday, 07 February 2015 - 19:11

The no confidence motion against Minister of Public Security, Christian Religious Affairs and Disaster Management John Amaratunga was submitted to the Parliamentary General Secretary today.

The motion contained signatures of 114 MPs.

The No-confidence motion was brought against the minister by the Opposition in connection with the incident of assaulting Wattala Pradeshiya Sabha Chairman and 4 UPFA PS councilors on the 30th of January

After submitting the motion to Parliamentary General Secretary, Opposition Leader Nimal Siripala de Silva stated that they have focused on several facts including being unable to prevent violence during post-election period and acting in a biased manner.

The opposition leader further elaborated on future action to be taken regarding the no-confidence motion.

Parliamentarians Mahinda Amaraweera, Felix Perera, Dallas Alahapperuma, Vimal Weerawansa, Mahindananda Aluthgamage, Lasantha Alagiya-wanna, T.B. Ekanayake, Weera-kumara Dissanayake and Dilum Amunugama also attended the media briefing.