NFF queries JVP over Interim Budget

Sunday, 08 February 2015 - 19:32

National Freedom Front raises a question from the 3 MPs of JVP, asking why they were not present during the vote taking of the government’s interim budget

Member of the party’s central working committee former MP Piyasiri Wijenayake raised the question while attending a media briefing held in Colombo this morning.

During the vote taking at the parliament yesterday, the interim budget received 164 votes for and 1 vote against.

The independent MP who represents Frontline Socialist party MP Ajith Kumara voted against the budget.

Parliamentarians Dinesh Gunawardena, D.E.W. Gunasekara, Tissa Vitharana, Vasudeva Nanayakkara and Vimal Weerawansa refrained from voting.

In addition, MPs Geethanjana Gunawaredena, Y.G. Padmasiri, Chandrasiri Gajadheera and Weerakumara Dissanayake also refrained from voting.

Expressing his views in response to the allegation made by NFF, JVP General Secretary Tylvin Silva stated that they did not purposely boycott the vote-taking instead they did not expect a vote taking to take place.

Therefore, they were not present during the event.

Meanwhile, a media briefing was convened in Galle by Independent MP Ajith Kumara to explain the reasons for voting against the interim budget.

Accordingly he said that he voted against since the interim budget tries to implement the old economic policy in an alternative manner.