10 military officers including a Major General sent on mandatory leave following 2010 presidential election reinstated under President's orders

Saturday, 14 February 2015 - 14:07

Acting Army media spokesman Brigadier Jayanath Jayaweera stated that 10 army officers including a Major General who were sent on compulsory leave following the Presidential election in 2010 have been reinstated under Presidential orders.

He further said that they include a Major General, 5 brigadiers, a colonel, a lieutenant and 2 captains.

Army media spokesman added that, the officers namely Major General N.U.M.M.V. Senanayake, Brigadier Bimal Dias, Brigadier Duminda Kappetiwalana, Brigadier Janaka Mohotti, Brigadier Athula Hannadige, Brigadier Wasantha Kumarapperuma, Colonel Thilak Ubhayawardena, Lieutenant Colonel J.M.C.T. Jayasundara, Captain R.M.R. Ranaweera and Captain W.A.D.C. Krishantha have been reinstated in service.

Accordingly, they are to meet the Commander of Army Lieutenant General Daya Ratnayake on Monday.