Recalled Non-Career Diplomats Name Exposed

Tuesday, 17 February 2015 - 9:40

Fifteen Sri Lanka Army Major Generals and three Brigadiers have been transferred.

Responding to a query of our news, Acting Military Media Spokesman Brigadier Jayanaath Jayaweera said that these transfers had been made with the approval of Army Commander Lieutenant General Daya Ratnayake.

Accordingly they were scheduled to report to the relevant duty stations from yesterday.

Meanwhile the Foreign Affairs Ministry said that it had been decided to recall 50 Diplomats who had been appointed by the previous Government on political grounds.

While their name list too was released yesterday, including 27 ambassadors.

Those recalled are First Secretary- Brussels, Dharshie Lokuge, daughter of former Minister Gamini Lokuge, Second Secretary- Tokyo, J.M.S.L. Bandara, brother of MP Janaka Bandara, Second Secretary- UN, New York, Ms C.J. Rambukwella, daughter of former Minister Keheliya Rambukwella, Second Secretary- Washington, Janathri Nanayakkara, niece of MP Vasudeva Nanayakkara, Third Secretary- Dubai, UAE, Dilrukshan Jayasinghe, son of Minister Chandrani Bandara.

However, four former military officials who are also political appointees, have been allowed to stay on till their terms end. Political appointees have been recalled from Australia, four from the High Commission in Canberra and two from Sydney.

They are Deputy High Commissioner- Canberra, Lakshman Hulugalle, Minister Counselor- Canberra, D.G.N. Rambukwella, Second Secretary- Canberra, Ms T.K. Chanitra Shalendri, Third Secretary- Canberra, Mrs Rathna Ranaweera, Consul General- Sydney, Bandula Jayasekera, and Consul Minister- Sydney, Yasara Abeynayake.

The others are Deputy Chief of Mission- Vienna, Srimal Wickremasinghe, and Second Secretary- Vienna, Nawodh S. Hennayake, Consul General- Toronto, Mohan de Alwis, First Secretary- Beijing, Ms M.I. Thuduwewatte, Second Secretary- Cairo, P.K.M.R.S. Wijeratne, Second Secretary- Paris, Ms P.R.B.W. Cooray, Second Secretary- Berlin, Roshan Nalin Wijesinghe, Consul General- Frankfurt, Pradeep Jayawardene, L.M.S. Liyawdeen, Baghdad, Minister Chennai- Anusha Shivarajah and Second Secretary- Chennai, B.M.U.N. Bandaranayaka. Third Secretary- Jordan, Pradeep Maddhumabandara, Second Secretary- Kuwait, J.M.S.L. Bandara, Minister Counselor- Kathmandu, Dixon J Perera, Consul General- Jeddha, Dr Adambawa Uthumlebbe, First Secretary- Abu Dhabi, UAE, W.K.S. Dissanayaka, Minister- London, Lalith Sepala Ratnayaka, Minister- London, Dr (Mrs) Hashini Kokila Waidyartne, Second Secretary- London, Ms Muthu Padmakumara, Second Secretary- New York, Umayanga Nanayakkara, Minister- Washington, Tanuja Usliyanage, Minister- Washington, K.D. Ranjith, and Minister- Washington, Waruna Epasinghe.