National Drug Bill passed in parliament

Friday, 06 March 2015 - 19:31

The National Medicine Regulatory Authority Bill which was tabled in Parliament today has been passed with amendments in the parliament with a majority of 67 votes.

A total of 68 MPs voted in favour of the bill while only independent MP Ajith Kumara voted against.

The Bill will provide for the establishment of a regulatory authority called the National Medicines Regulatory Authority.

The Authority will be responsible for the regulation and control of Registration, Licensing, Manufacture, Importation and all other aspects pertaining to medicines, medical devices and borderline products.