32 CP Councilors submit affidavits to appoint Thilina Bandara as CM

Thursday, 12 March 2015 - 13:15

32 government and opposition members of the Central Provincial Council submitted affidavits to the governor Surangani Ellawala requesting her to appoint Thilina Bandara Tennakoon as the Chief Minister.

The UPFA ruling Central Provincial Council has a total of 58 seats where 36 seats belong to the UPFA.

The UNP holds 16 seats while Democratic Party and Ceylon Workers Congress hold 2 seats each.

Kandurata Janatha Peramuna and Sri Lanka Muslim Congress hold one seat each in the Central Provincial Council.

Speaking to our news team Provincial Councilor Thilina Bandara Tennakoon said that 15 UPFA members, 15 UNP members and the two members of the Democratic Party are among those who submitted affidavits.

When our news team contacted Central Provincial Governor Surangani Ellawala said that she has received the particular affidavits, and the matter should be studied.

The Chief Ministers of the UPFA controlled Uva, North Central and Eastern Provincial Councils were also changed after the Presidential Election.