Update: New Ministers take oaths

Sunday, 22 March 2015 - 15:27

President Maithripala Sirisena today appointed eleven new Cabinet Ministers, five State Ministers and ten Deputy Ministers at a ceremony held at the Presidential Secretariat in Colombo.

Cabinet Ministers are as follows

A.H.M. Fowzie (Disaster Management)
SB Navinne (Labour Ministry)
P. Gamage (Treasury and Technical Training Minister)
S. Amunugama (Higher Education)
SB Dissanayake (Rural Economy)
JB Tennakoon (Provincial Council)
F. Perera (Special Projects Minister)
M Yapa Abeywardane (Parliamentary Affairs Minister)
R. Cooray (Aviation Minister)
Vijith V Zoysa (Irrigation Ministry)
Mahinda Amaraweera (Fishery Minister)

New State Ministers are as follows

Pavithra Wanniarachchi (Environmental Minister)
Jeevan Kumarathunga (Labour)
Mahinda Samarasinghe (Financial Minister)
CB Rathnayake (State Administration)
Dilan Perera (Housing Minister)

Deputy Ministers are as follows

Tissa Karaliyaddha (Buddhist Affairs)
Dayashritha (Fishery)
Ranjith Siyambalapitiya (Internal)
L. Senevirathne (Disaster Management)
L. Yapa (Aviation)
Lalith Dissanayake (Irrigation)
Jagatg (Plantation)
Lasantha (Rural Economy)
Sudarshani (Higher Education)
S. Bandara (Media),

Update: Sunday, 22 March 2015 - 03:58 PM

10 SLFP MPs to become Ministers

10 SLFP MPs will take oaths as Ministers of the National Government at 2pm today, UNP Spokesman Minister Akila Viraj Kariyawasam stated.

Update: Sunday, 22 March 2015 - 03:27 PM

SLFP convenes to take final decision on National Government

An SLFP Parliamentary group meeting is to be held today under the patronage of President Maithripala Sirisena.

Opposition Leader Nimal Siripala De Silva stated that the meeting will be held at 2PM at the Presidential Secretariat.

He stated that a final decision will be taken at this meeting with regard to forming a national government.

A Senior Spokesperson of the SLFP stated a final consensus will be reached regarding accepting Ministerial portfolios and how they should function in parliament as a party.