27 SLFP Mps join Ratnapura rally campaigning for Mahinda

Thursday, 26 March 2015 - 19:39

Former President Mahinda Rajapaksa says although he was defeated in the election, none of them will be defeated politically.

He sated this in a message sent to the ongoing rally held in Ratnapura campaigning to nominate Mahinda Rajapaksa as the prime ministerial candidate in the next general election.

In the third of a series of rallies being held at the Seewali grounds in Ratnapura, 27 SLFP Mps including former ministers Bandula Gunawardana, Mahindananda Aluthgamage, Rohitha Abeygunawardana, Kumara Welgama, T.B. Ekanayake, Salinda Dissanayake, S.M. Chandrasena, Manusha Nanayakkara and Uditha Lokubandara participated.

At the same time, NFF leader Wimal Weerawansa, MEP leader Dinesh Gunawardana, DLF leader Wasudeva Nanayakkara and Pivituru Hela Urumaya leader Udaya Gammanpila also participated in the rally.

Western Provincial Council Chief Minister Prasanna Ranatunga and former North Central Provincial Council Chief Minister S.M. Ranjith joined the rally with their supporters.  A group of Southern Provincial Council members also participated.