VAT Amendment Bill passed by majority vote; 65 MPs avoid voting

Thursday, 27 October 2016 - 7:16


The VAT Amendment Bill was passed by the Parliament last afternoon by a majority vote.

While it was passed at the second reading by a majority vote of 66, it was approved at the third reading by a majority vote of 53.

At the second reading 112 voted for and 46 against the Bill.

JVP MP Wimal Ratnayake recommended that a voting for the third reading was necessary, and was carried out accordingly. 

The result was 75 for and 23 against the bill. 

Accordingly the Bill was passed at the third reading by a majority of 53 votes. 

During the second reading 65 MPs were absent. 

Former President Mahinda Rajapaksa, Chamal Rajapaksa, Prasanna Ranatunga, Salinda Dissanayake, C. B. Ratnayake and Ministers from the SLFP Nimal Siripala de Silva, Duminda Dissanayake, T. B. Ekanayake, and A.H.M. Fowsi were not present at the time of voting. 

While the Joint Opposition and the JVP voted against the Bill, TNA MPs including Opposition Leader R. Sambandan were also absent.

Habaraduwa, Galle electorates go to SLPP
Thursday, 06 August 2020 - 16:03

Polling 42,497 votes, the Sri Lanka Podujana Peramuna has won the Habaraduwa electorate in Galle.The SJB is in second place with 8,628 votes, followed... Read More

SLPP takes early lead
Thursday, 06 August 2020 - 15:37

The Sri Lanka Podujana Peramuna is in the lead with 161,429 votes in the parliamentary election 2020, according to the results released so far.The Samagi... Read More

SLPP wins in Devinuwara and Ambalangoda too
Thursday, 06 August 2020 - 15:23

Official results for the electorates of Devinuwara in Galle and Ambalangoda in Galle have been released.The winner in both electorates is the Sri Lanka... Read More