Supreme Court rejects FR petition against dividing of Ambagamuwa PS

Monday, 29 January 2018 - 14:55

The Supreme Court has rejected the Fundamental Rights petition which was filed against the dividing of Ambagamuwa Pradeshiya Sabha region into three.
The petition was taken up before Supreme Court judges Sisira de Abrew, K. T. Chitrasiri and Priyantha Jayawardene today (Jan. 29).
The former Pradeshiya Sabha member of the Ambagamuwa PS of the United Peoples' Freedom Alliance Helapriya Nandaraja filed this petition citing that the move has violated his fundamental rights.
Under the recent delimitation of wards, the Ambagamuwa PS region has been divided into three, namely Ambagamuwa, Norwood and Maskeliya.