SLFP committee proposes to continue Unity Govt.

Saturday, 21 April 2018 - 19:07

Minister Dr. Sarath Amunugama, Chairman of the Committee appointed by the President to assess the feasibility of the Sri Lanka Freedom Party continuing with the Unity Government, says that the committee in its report has proposed to continue the Unity Government.
Addressing a ceremony in Colombo today (Apr. 21), he stated that the report of the committee will be finalized within today.
16 SLFP Ministers voted in favour of the "no-confidence motion' against the Prime Minister on 4th of April and thereafter the United National Party said that they can’t work with that group.
Now the SLFP Group says they would sit in the opposition.
Then President Maithripala Sirisena appointed a Committee headed by Dr. Amunugama to review the situation.
Ministers Duminda Dissanayake, Mahinda Amaraweera, Ranjith Siyambalapitiya and Mahinda Samarasinghe are the other members of the committee.
Meanwhile, it is reported that 3 representatives of the group of 16 SLFPers, have met the President in London and have requested to remove the general secretaries of the SLFP and the UPFA from their posts.