SLFP's "Group of 16" undecided on May Day rally

Monday, 23 April 2018 - 13:31

The representatives of Sri Lanka Freedom Party's parliamentarians who had recently resigned from their Ministerial portfolios expect to meet President Maithripala Sirisena today (Apr. 23).
They said they would take a final decision on their participation in SLFP May Day rally following this meeting.
The SLFP Central Committee meeting will probably be held next week.
The SLFP's "Group of 16" said earlier that during this CC meeting, they are going to propose that the party as a whole should resign from the Unity Government.
Meanwhile, a committee headed by Dr. Sarath Amunugama was appointed to look into the future of the Unity Government.
The committee report will be handed over to the President soon and it was reported that the committee members have proposed to continue the Unity Government.
The Joint Opposition leaders will meet tomorrow under the patronage of former President Mahinda Rajapaksa at his official residence in Colombo.
The meeting will draw special attention to the possibility of engaging in politics with the 16 SLFP MPs who had resigned from the government.
MP Dayasiri Jayasekera said earlier that a political force will be formed with the affiliation of Joint Opposition and Podujana Peramuna.
Meanwhile, addressing a ceremony held in Bibila yesterday, Minister Vijith Vijayamuni Soyza requested the 16 SLFP former Ministers to return to the Unity Government.