“Group of 16” says more SLFP Ministers would join them

Tuesday, 24 April 2018 - 12:30

Former Deputy Minister, Anuradha Jayaratne says that another Sri Lanka Freedom Party group would join with them in near future.
Jayaratne is a member of SLFP's "Group of 16" who resigned from the Unity Government recently.
He mentioned that the new group would join them according to decisions which would be taken at the party Central Committee meeting tonight.
It has been reported that several crucial decisions are to be taken at this meeting.
The agreement on Unity Government and future actions to be taken by the SLFP are to be discussed tonight's CC meeting.
MP Anuradha Jayaratne said that it is anticipated that many SLFP MPs would join with them by 8th of May, it means after the May Day.
Meanwhile, a special discussion between the President Maithripala Sirisena and the 16 Sri Lanka Freedom Party MPs who resigned from Ministry posts will take place this afternoon (Apr.24).
Prior to this, this group met in Colombo and Kurunegala last night for separate discussions.
Several MPs including former Ministers S. B. Dissanayake, Susil Premajayantha and W. D. J. Seneviratne held a discussion at the residence of former Deputy Speaker Thilanga Sumathipala.
In addition to this, another meeting was held in Kurunegala where former Ministers Dayasiri Jayasekera, Anura Priyadarshana Yapa and T. B. Ekanayake met for a discussion.
Former MP Shantha Bandara and former North-Western Chief Minister Dharmasiri Dassanayake had also participated in the discussion.
Meanwhile,   the committee headed by Minister Dr. Sarath Amunugama which was appointed to study the future of the Unity Government will hand over a report to the President today.
President Maithripala Sirisena appointed this committee on 13th of this month.
The SLFP Central Committee chaired by President Maithripala Sirisena is also scheduled to meet at the President’s official residence tonight.