20th Amendment passed with 2/3 majority - 156 for 65 against

Thursday, 22 October 2020 - 19:55

The second reading of the 20th Amendment to the Constitution passed with a 2/3 majority in Parliament. 156 Voted in favour while 65 voted against the proposed 20th Amendment.

Diana Gamage, representing the Samagi Jana Balawegaya and opposition MPs Nasir Ahmed, Faisal Qasim, H.M.M. Harris and M.S. Thawfiq voted in favor of the bill.

Former President Maithripala Sirisena was not present in the chambers during the voting.

MP Wijedasa Rajapaksa who was critical of the bill also voted in favor.