Gazette issued introducing two new Cabinet ministries

Sunday, 22 November 2020 - 22:36

A Gazette Notification has been issued introducing two new Cabinet ministries.

Accordingly, the Ministry of Technology and the Ministry of Public Security have been introduced. The number of Cabinet ministries has now increased to 30.

In addition, the scopes of several other ministries have also been revised by the Gazette Notification issued.

According to the new Gazette Notification, the Presidential Task Force for the Management of Archaeological Heritage in the Eastern Province has been taken under the purview of the Presidential Secretariat.

The Telecommunications Regulatory Commission of Sri Lanka (TRCSL) and its affiliates, the SLT and its subsidiaries and affiliates which have been previously under the Presidential Secretariat have been brought under the newly established Ministry of Technology. In addition, the Sri Lanka Standards Institute and the Department of Registration of Persons have been transferred to the Ministry of Technology.

The Police Department, which has been previously under the Defence State Ministry, and the Civil Defence Department, which has been under the Ministry of Defence, have been transferred to the newly formed Ministry of Public Defense by the new gazette notification.

In addition, the Department of Archeology has been brought under the purview of the National Heritage, Performing Arts
and Rural Arts Promotion State Ministry. Previously it was under the Defence Ministry.